Creativity

The more I give

The more I want to give

The words come from nowhere!

Oh, isn’t that the miracle of it–

The creative spark, a sudden blip of light

In a receptive void

Taking on this garb of

Words, rhymes, structures

Whatever happens to be lying around

Whatever happens to be lying around

Now filled with light

Now dancing

Now truly present

Isn’t that the miracle of it?

~

The more I give

The more I want to give

And the realization

That it’s not me giving

I don’t have anything to give

Because I don’t really exist

I am a channel

And I am not even that

The giving carries me away

Piece by piece, I lose myself

~

There is no difference

Between the spider who weaves

Her web

And the master painter

Transforming human culture

Intelligence, creativity

Are not ours to own

Do not distinguish us

They connect us to all life

And the great mystery

That all this is simply appearing

From God knows where

And going right back

To where it came

~

The more I give

The more I want to give

Because something else is stepping

Into the driver’s seat

Because giving teaches me

To give up control

Not to look back

And try to trace the ripples

Of my giving

Just continue on this wave

Because the more I give

The more I live

~

giving

5 thoughts on “Creativity”

Leave a Reply

